Winner of the Dr Huw Bevan Jones Award 2019

The Winner of the Dr. Huw Bevan Jones Award 2019

Tina Ashdown , a Brechfa based artist has won this years national arts competition, The Dr. Huw Bevan Jones Award.

Tina Ashdown – Winner of the 2019 Dr HUw Bevan Jones Award

The excitement has been mounting at the gallery for weeks and at last, on Friday 25th January the invited judges gathered here at the gallery, to face the daunting task of judging over 35 excellent entries to choose the winner of the second Dr Huw Bevan Jones Art Award. The theme for this year was` Wellbeing`. The work that was submitted showed talent in many different materials, in 2D and 3D pieces.

The judging panel, sculptor Rebecca Buck, Head of Carmarthen School of Art Paula Phillips-Davies and Dr Rhys Bevan Jones, a professional artist and psychiatrist, spent several hours debating, deliberating and deciding upon who should walk away with the prestigious Huw Bevan Jones plaque, an impressive £1,000 cash prize and a solo exhibition at Oriel Bevan Jones Gallery 2 in the spring of 2020.

Dr Rhys Bevan Jones said “We were delighted with the response to this, the second Dr Huw Bevan Jones Award in memory of my late father and we were all touched by the personal & emotive stories behind the entries, showing such strong responses to the brief. I don’t think anyone could question the standard of entries”.

The unanimous winning entry is “The Seductive Power of Non-Positive Thought” by Tina Ashdown, with her entry created from reclaimed bog oak, wire and beads, which depicts the notion that we can “influence our thoughts and the way they travel because they are totally within our control”.

Judge Rebecca Buck, who is an international award winning sculptor herself said “The winning piece consisted of gorgeous materials and craftsmanship that perfectly illustrates an intriguing idea. The whole thing comes across as being intense, interesting and deeply thought-provoking.”

There were also four entries chosen as Highly Commended by artists Simon Hughes Lilly, Sarah Lees, Tanya Rotherfield and Elaine Graham.

“The range of submissions for the competition were so diverse, it has been a complete delight to take the time to study the work on show and supporting statements” said Paula Phillips-Davies, Head of The Carmarthen School of Art. “The quality of work is incredible and a real testament to the talent in this area.”

The Dr Huw Bevan Jones award was launched in 2017 and is a national art competition for all professional artists (or artists in training) based in Wales which is now a biannual event. We aim to provide a platform for all professional artists to meet and foster creativity and inspiration.

All the submitted entries will now be on show in an exhibition in the window and in Oriel/Gallery2 at The Oriel Bevan Jones Gallery which will run from Saturday January 26th through to Saturday March 2nd  and will be open to the public. You are so welcome to come in and have a look. The retail area of the gallery is open as usual, manned by our friendly staff who will be delighted to answer any questions.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply